How to write a follow-up letter

4 May

So you got interviewed a few weeks ago and still waiting for the results? Is the wait eating you away? Here’s your chance to once again remind your employer you’re still kicking and ask them about the status of the job!

I’m still waiting for results from my interview and decided to send a follow up email to the employer. It’s been 2 weeks since the interview, which is usually a good time to send a follow up letter. Here’s what I sent:

This letter thanks the employer once again, tells them that you’re still interested in the job, explains why you are a good candidate for the job, and asks about the status of the position. The next day, the employer replied saying she’s still interviewing and will keep me posted.

People follow up differently, you can call or email. I prefer email just because I don’t want to catch the employer at the wrong time. Some people prefer the other because they get a response quicker and they don’t have to write as much. As for the wait time, if the employer states a time you’ll hear the results, wait until that time is up and then send a followup letter. For example, they said they’ll make a decision in 4 weeks, then wait 4 weeks before sending a follow up email. Otherwise, wait 2 – 3 weeks before you send one out. I don’t encourage people to contact them once a week (which some do) — it just shows you’re desperate and annoying. Employers have their own jobs to do, they aren’t dedicating all their time in finding the right candidate! So wait the appropriate amount of time and then contact them! If they don’t reply, well, you should scratch them off your list.

Hope this helps for those who are still waiting for results. If you have other suggestions about this topic, share it in the comments section below!

5 Responses to “How to write a follow-up letter”

  1. Sylvie May 5, 2011 at 3:18 am #

    Good luck, Vanny. I hope you’ll get the position. Most of my interviews are pretty quick in giving response, especially rejections, so I’ve received two so far. (I don’t usually send out follow-up letter other than ‘thank-you.’ I had a plant interview on Friday last week, and I’m expecting a response today, but apparently nothing so far. I thought I did pretty good, and the interviewer likes me, but the longer I’m kept in a limbo, the more I doubt myself that I’ll get the job.

    Lol, I was so tired so when he asked me do I have any questions, I asked him straight out “Am I hired?” in a serious/jokingly way. Either way, I don’t remember his reaction, but he told me he likes me. I’m planning on calling him either tomorrow or Friday, since when I asked, he said I should hear back mid-next week.

    I was supposed to send the plant manager from another company an email (the one I told you about calling me while I was at the airport) but I couldn’t bring myself to write one, so I gave up. (It’s one of those time where you don’t feel like begging for a job.) :(

    • VannyC May 5, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

      Thanks, I’ll need it!

      Sounds like you’re getting plenty of interviews! That’s great! This one you’re waiting for sounds like you have a good chance. Not many employers would say that they like you. If you don’t get a response, definitely call or send an email.

      As for the manager that called, just take it as a learning experience. You live and you learn.

      Good luck with this company though. I hope to hear some good news soon! =)

  2. Sylvie May 5, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    I have the greatest new. I just called “that” company today, and I was told they’re processing the paper, and I should receive an offer letter in a few days.

    I don’t think I can use a word to describe how happy I am right now.

  3. VannyC May 6, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    That’s awesome! Congratulations! Best of luck with your new job!!!

  4. abhijith November 5, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    Thanks a lot ,this format help me a lot,, and best of luck man !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

